Global Deactivation of Portico Mappings
By Tom Walters, on 7 November 2023
Portico mappings on Moodle pages were globally deactivated on 7th November 2023.
Enrolled students will retain access to their Moodle courses.
How will this impact students on my course?
- Students who are already enrolled on a Moodle course WILL continue to have access to that Moodle course.
- Students who join a Module on Portico WILL NOT be automatically enrolled onto the corresponding Moodle course. Students can still be manually enrolled.
- Students who leave the module on Portico WILL NOT be automatically unenrolled.
Moodle and Portico mappings
If Portico mappings are active on a Moodle course, student enrolments on that course are automatically updated overnight to mirror the student registrations in Portico. Consequently, students who change courses or withdraw from their studies are automatically enrolled or unenrolled from the Moodle course when their Portico record is changed. This is desirable when students change/drop modules within the first few weeks of term, however, if students are automatically unenrolled after they have been awarded grades, these grades become inaccessible, which can be very problematic.
Note: the ‘inaccessible’ grades, submissions and logged activity are not deleted. These can be accessed again if the student is re-enrolled manually, however while a student is no longer enrolled on a course, there is no way to view their content.
Why deactivate Portico mappings?
To reduce the likelihood of this particular ‘inaccessible/missing grades’ problem occurring, Portico mappings have been deactivated on all Moodle courses.
For more information about Portico deactivation and why this is done, please see the wiki guide – Deactivating Portico enrolments.
Can I re-activate Portico mappings on my courses?
Doing so may unenrol existing students in error. Before making any changes, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org