X Close

DIS Student Blog


Department of Information Studies


Announcing the Carnegie Medal Shortlist

By uczcrot, on 15 March 2018

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is the longest-running award for children and young adult literature in the United Kingdom, and yesterday, its shortlist for 2017 was released. The list highlights the importance of social commentary and diverse representation in children’s and young adult literature, and Patrick Ness’ inclusion sets him up to be the first author ever to receive the award three times. We are excited to see a shortlist of beloved authors and inclusive works, and we are eagerly awaiting the prize’s final announcement on June 8. Please see below for the full shortlist for the Carnegie Medal!

     Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean (Usborne Publishing)

     Rook by Anthony McGowan (Barrington Stoke)

     After the Fire by Will Hill (Usborne Publishing)

     Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans (David Fickling Books)

     Release by Patrick Ness (Walker Books)

     Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk (Corgi)

     The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Walker Books)

     Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick (Orion)

The shortlist for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal, awarded for outstanding achievement in children’s illustration, has also been announced and can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply